Join 28,000+ awesome people and stay updated ✨

  • Enjoyed this post? Get notified for new ones
  • Get exclusive offers and early access
  • One email every couple of months, no spam!

_

Gmail Snooze Feature: Best Snoozing Option for Your Emails

Most of us use Gmail on a daily basis, but we are not even aware of how many brilliant features this provider has. One of them is the Gmail snooze feature. In 2018, Google completely revamped Gmail, and the snooze feature was on the list of new tools for Gmail users.

What Is a Gmail Snooze?

By snoozing your emails, you can temporarily wave your emails away and tell Gmail when you want these emails to appear again. This tremendously helps you manage your email messages more efficiently. After all, how many times have you read the email you were supposed to reply to and completely forgot about it?

This feature ensures you don’t forget about your emails. It also allows you to select among a few different options. For instance, you can snooze your emails until the next day, later in the week, the week after and so on.

If you’re receiving many emails per day, you might consider using this feature as it will probably make your email communication more efficient. All you have to do is to choose when you want your email to reappear. You can even set a custom date and time, which is very useful when going on a vacation.

How to Snooze Your Emails

Snoozing your emails is a very simple process. Just open your Gmail account on your phone and navigate to the email you wish to snooze. Then, tap that button with three dots and then tap “Snooze.” A window will pop up asking you to select the time you want that email to appear again in your inbox.

Keep in mind that snoozing your emails on your phone will make them invisible in your inbox if you decide to log into the browser version of Gmail. The email you snoozed will appear as a message at the top of the inbox, and then you will see it both on the desktop and on mobile.

If you need to review your snoozed emails, you can access them by clicking or tapping the “Snoozed” label in the Gmail menu on the left. This feature is incredibly helpful if you have so many other things you need to focus on instead of reading your emails, but also want to make sure all of your important emails will eventually be responded to in a timely manner.

Web Version

If you’re used to working from your desktop and you need to snooze emails there, you can do that as well. After the last redesign of Gmail, the snooze button is no longer reserved just for mobile users. All you have to do is hit the snooze button, which is a clock icon. You can snooze an opened email or directly from your inbox.

Having an empty and organized inbox doesn’t have to be impossible with fantastic features like this. All you have to do is utilize it when you need it, and you will improve the efficiency of your email communication, while still staying organized with your current tasks and other activities.

Utilization

To simplify it, you can use a snooze button whenever you don’t have time to answer your emails. For instance, you might be on your way to leave your office as it is Friday evening and you don’t want to sit at your desk for an additional 20 minutes responding to a few emails you’ve just received. Hence, the Gmail snooze feature!

Just snooze all these emails, and you don’t have to remind yourself about them anymore. They will appear in your inbox on Monday when you arrive back to work. This also helps you to relax and not think about all the things that technology can take care of on its own.

As already mentioned, snoozing your emails is really helpful if you’re on a short vacation and you don’t want to create an out-of-office email for a day or two. You can simply click on the snooze option and forget all about these emails until it’s time to answer them.

Mute and Archive

As Google is constantly developing new features and surprising us with new Gmail redesigns, we can choose among various options when we’re trying to manage our emails. Now, we have options such as mute, archive and snooze in Gmail. Do you know what the difference is between them and when should you use each of these features?

Archive

By choosing to archive your emails, you are actually telling Gmail to hide your emails. These emails will not be deleted, however, they will just be stored away from your inbox, and you can access them in your archives. If you did this on accident or you want to retrieve an email you archived a few hours or days ago, you can do it by going to your archived tab and unarchive that email.

Mute

This is one of the oldest Gmail features which silences your email messages without disturbing you. In other words, if you mute a certain conversation, you will not see any new emails from that conversation in your inbox. These emails can be found in your archive, but they will not appear in your inbox, and you will not receive a notification for them.

The difference between mute and archive is when a thread reappears in your inbox each time you receive a new email. With muting a conversation, these emails will no longer appear in your inbox until you decide to un-mute the conversation.

Snooze

Snooze is one of the most recent features in Gmail. The snoozed email will act like a new email which will appear in your inbox whenever you want. Even if you completely forgot about that email, once you see it in your inbox, you can focus on it and take care of it.

When compared to the two features mentioned above, snooze is used for emails that are important and need your attention, but you’re not able to focus on them right now. All three of them can be used whenever you actually need them to improve your email communication and keep your inbox clean.

Final Thoughts

Until we see new features in the next Gmail redesign, Gmail snooze feature is one of the essential ones for both personal and professional communication in your inbox. All these features are free and incredibly simple to use, so make sure you make the most of them!